Man Hopes To Establish Miscrodistillery In Lancaster City

A bottle of American rye whiskey

Image via Wikipedia

Andrew H. Martin has seen the rise in microbreweries in recent years.

Now he hopes to be a part of the next big wave: microspirits.

Martin, of East Orange Street, plans to convert a former three-story tobacco warehouse into the county’s first distillery since Prohibition.

And, within a year, he hopes to be reintroducing consumers to a product unseen here in nearly a century: locally made rye whiskey.

“It’s something I’ve been interested in for a while. I’ve been reading about it for a while,” said Martin, 34.

“Lancaster seems like a great place. The history of distilling is strong. It was destroyed with Prohibition, but I think it would come back.”

Read more: http://lancasteronline.com/article/local/594488_Man-hopes-to-establish-microdistillery-in-Lancaster-city.html#ixzz1nbTR1vED

One thought on “Man Hopes To Establish Miscrodistillery In Lancaster City

  1. Andrew, I was interested in distilling as you are. We must get in contact. I think by using sherry casks [small ones] you can certainly have good bourbon in three years. The casks would have to be new ones. I study distilleries in Scotland [single malts] and US whiskies. I have a very nice collection. I’m retired and in my mid sixties. I live on a farm in Lititz [Doe Run Rd.] Regards, James Peiffer

Leave a Reply

